Western Australia

2019 Western Australian Industry & Export Awards Winners

Oh what a night!

The 2019 Western Australian Industry & Export Awards celebrated and recognised businesses from all regions of the state who are leading the way in taking WA to the world.

On awards’ night, 16 businesses were honoured as winners across 12 National Export Award categories and 4 State-based Award categories, which included the addition of the new WA Exporter to Asia Award.

In celebration of this new category, and the WA governments recently announced Asian Engagement Strategy 2019 – 2030, the evening was themed with flavours and elements from our Asian neighbours.

Western Australia’s Minister for Asian Engagement, the Hon Peter Tinley MLA, also attended and presented the WA Exporter to Asia Award to the category’s first winners, CBH Grain.

The prestigious Western Australian Exporter of the Year Award was presented to Geraldton Fishermen’s Co-operative.

Geraldton Fishermen’s Cooperative (GFC) was established in 1950 by a small group of Western Rock Lobster fishers. Over the last 69 years GFC has grown to become Australia’s largest rock lobster processor and the world’s largest live rock lobster exporter sending to the USA, China, Japan, Singapore, Taiwan, Malaysia and the UAE. In contrast to many other primary producers, the GFC Members have managed to build a world leading supply chain which delivers value directly back to hundreds of fishing families and communities along the Western Australian coastline.

Other honours for the evening went to Stanley College and Proteomics International. Both companies were inducted into the WA Awards Hall of Fame for the outstanding achievement of winning in their award categories on at least three occasions. Stanley College for winning Education & Training in 2016, 2017, 2018. Proteomics International for winning in Health & Biotechnology in 2015, 2016, 2018.

Winners of national export award categories represent Western Australia at the 57th Australian Export Awards, to be held on 3 December 2019, in Canberra.

And the winners are:

Western Australia